If you want to join the paleo community, you may be speaking about desi cow ghee for the first time. Or perhaps you’re a practiced pro and you use it habitually or have begun to try it because you get to know if it is Paleo or not.
As nutritionists at Paleo Plan, we wanted to encourage you with a piece of practical knowledge about pure ghee — what it is, whether it is or isn’t paleo, and if we suggest using it.
First of all, what is ghee?
Ghee is, in theory, a pure form of butterfat or it is similar to clarified butter. Desi ghee is made with a Vedic process by simmering milk fat to the point where the milk solids (carbohydrates and proteins) divide from the fat component.
The milk solids are then taken out and all content evaporated leaving behind a golden yellow residue with pure fat. The reason we called that ghee is a pure form of butterfat “in theory” is because it’s not uncommon (especially in homemade ghee) for trace quantities of milk solids present in the final output.
Ghee is a byproduct of dairy that has been gaining in popularity worldwide! But why is desi cow ghee paleo-approved even though it’s a dairy product? Well, there are actually a few things, but to get more on it read the article.
Ghee has uncountable health benefits, being an anti-inflammatory agent and healthy for gut health. Despite its benefits, some folks still wonder how it is paleo-approved.
Let’s take a closer view of grass-fed cow ghee and find out why it is a wise choice for those following the Paleo plan.
Read more : How desi ghee helps in everyday health problems
What is Paleo?
The Paleo diet is a plan of eating that accounted for foods our ancestors could suggest or hunt. It eliminates all grains, legumes, dairy elements, and low salt from the equation in order to follow what people ate 10 thousand years before the agricultural revolution!
Paleo is a diet enriched in protein, low in fat, low to medium level in carbohydrates, fiber-rich, low in sodium, and avoids refined sugars.
The diet is meant to refer to what people ate in the Paleolithic era. The foods back then were meant for human systems, so they didn’t include all those chemicals we’re now preserved with!
Is Desi Ghee Paleo?
Butter and Ghee are both mostly debated topics in the Paleo plan, and that’s basically because these foods are technically by-products of dairy. As we all know, dairy could not come in Paleo.
However, removing the milk solids from milk prepares desi cow ghee, a food that in our experience, is well-tolerated by everyone who has a dairy intolerance.
Considering that folks can be subtle to desi ghee without experiencing it, we do suggest that people ‘challenge dairy’ with some plans in their Paleo journey.
This means avoiding all dairy products (including butter and ghee) from the meal plan for at least a month, and then refreshing them back one at a time (‘challenging’ them back into your diet) to test for any internal food sensitivities.
Taking a break from all dairy offers the body a possibility to ‘reset’ and when reintroduced later, can deliver a definitive reply as to whether or not there is a sensitivity present. This is called an elimination-provocation ultimatum, and it sustains the gold standard for recognizing food allergies.
The bottom line is that personal choice and health factors should be accounted for when deciding whether or not to add ghee to your Paleo or Keto diet plan. That’s why we don’t suggest a 100% yes or no reply as to whether or not pure cow ghee is Keto-friendly.
Why is Ghee Paleo Approved Even Though it’s Dairy?
Ghee does not include milk solids (carbohydrates and proteins). The milk solids are enriched with lactose, casein, and whey proteins. Essentially, the element that most people can’t tolerate is removed out of pure ghee.
So, even though desi cow ghee is technically obtained from a milk byproduct, the process that makes a dairy factor is taken out! So it’s up to you how strict they will undergo a Paleo diet. But rest assured, desi cow ghee is paleo-approved.
What are the benefits of organic cow ghee?
1. Low in Lactose & Casein Proteins
Lactose, casein, and whey are taken out while making desi ghee. Lactose is the natural form of sugar content in milk, whereas casein and whey are proteins present in milk solids.
These elements all evaporate when boiling butterfat and we get the milk solids separated from the liquid fat. Because of this, desi cow ghee is a good choice for people having lactose, casein, and/or whey sensitivity.
2. Butyric Acid
Butyric acid is a short-chain fatty acid present in grass-fed cow ghee. Butyric acid is essential for gut health. Organic cow ghee includes a slightly higher level of butyric acid compared to butter and helps in digestion problems.
3. Higher Smoke Point
Desi cow ghee holds up to a high smoking point for cooking better compared to butter. Butter generates free radicals under high heat, whereas desi ghee is suitable for all kinds of cooking like sautéing or frying foods due to its high smoke point.
4. Fit for a Low FODMAP Diet
Lactose is one of the FODMAPs, which are kinds of carbohydrates that aren’t digested properly by some people. You can try pure ghee to avoid certain FODMAPs like lactose.
5. Longer Shelf Stable Compared to Butter
An opened jar of desi cow ghee can be placed in a dark place such as a kitchen cabinet for up to six months. If you store it in the refrigerator it will survive up to a year. Make sure that ghee doesn’t sustain too hot a place or humid atmosphere because that can negatively affect its shelf life.
On the other hand, butter is only sustained for one to two months only in the refrigerator whether it’s open or not.
Ghee is recognized as a Paleo food because it lacks milk solids content. On the other hand, butter includes milk solids with lactose and casein whey and casein, so it’s not added since dairy is ignored on a Paleo diet.
This grass-fed ghee is certified Paleo-friendly and is prepared from milk from grass-fed cows. Grass-fed ghee tends to have a higher amount of vitamin A compared to cows fed grain-based food.